Staff Excellence Awards...

Staff Excellence Awards...

Let us call you!

Staff Excellence Awards winners

Our Staff Excellence awards acknowledge staff for their contributions to our clients, their families and the organisation. The Excellence Awards are directly linked to the values of our organisation, particularly in relation to respect, and also our priority to make our workplace safer. They are also based on feedback from clients and staff regarding the importance of reward and recognition.

The nominations for the awards continue to grow each year and we’d like to thank our prize sponsors KPMG and Advantage Salary Packaging for their generosity and support of the Awards. Big thanks also to our clients, Fiona – who assisted on the judging panel for the awards and Frank – who produced the spectacular woodwork trophies for the Bill Tipping Awards.

At this year’s awards presentation we also announced that we are introducing The Marjorie Tipping Scholarship in 2018.

Candice Charles, Chair of The Tipping Foundation, presented four awards with representatives from KPMG and Advantage Salary Packaging, as follows:

Outstanding Team Award

Team Ability

For excellence in working together to achieve an outstanding result for a client or in the workplace (team).

Winner: Team Ability – Sean Ewart, Tamara Shepherd, Caleb Simpson and Sarah Muller.

About the winning team: Team Ability is a vibrant after-school sport program that has profoundly improved the wellbeing and social engagement of teenagers with disabilities in Swan Hill. By involving a range of local sporting clubs in the delivery of the program, they have helped create greater community cohesion and intolerance of discrimination by facilitating engagement between youth with disability and members of local sporting clubs. They have great working relationships with a range of local sporting clubs including, AFL, netball, and football (soccer), who previously had excluded students with intellectual and related disabilities but who over the last seven years have provided volunteer and pro bono coaching and mentoring, inclusion in clinics and club events, and equipment.

Award accepted by: Thanks to Sean and Tamara (pictured) who travelled from Swan Hill to accept their award.

Excellence in Safety Leadership Award

Peter Janicke accepting award on Donna Ralph's behalf

For outstanding leadership in making the workplace safer for all (team or individual).

Winner: Donna Ralph 

About the winner: Donna was nominated for this award due to her proactive, constructive and seamless approach to manual handling assessments and training. She is proactive in identifying and managing manual handling equipment needs for clients and staff and manual handling changes required often in  unpredictable environments in the community. Donna takes on Safety Leadership as an integral part of her role and can be depended on to undertake various OHS tasks diligently and energetically. She works well with all stakeholders to problem solve and implement OHS solutions.

Award accepted by: Peter Janicke (pictured) collected her certificate and prize on her behalf. Congratulations to Donna.

Innovation in Practice Award

Moiya Longin winner of Innovation in Practice Award

For excellence in developing new ways of working that has led to improved outcomes for a client or in the workplace (team or individual).

Winner: Moiya Longin

About the winner: One of the greatest contributing factors in improving safety in our work with traumatised young people is the ability to reframe the view of the presenting behaviours the young people exhibit every day. Moiya has made extraordinary use of the additional training, professional development and practice support offered by the organisation in the past 18 months and has integrated this seamlessly with her own knowledge, practice wisdom, compassion and persistence to coach and mentor her whole team in the transformation of residential care. The outcomes she has achieved with young people is truly remarkable.

Award accepted by: Congratulations to Moiya, who is pictured with Chair Candice Charles and Tony Vitacca from Advantage Salary Packaging.

Bill Tipping Distinguished Staff Member of the Year Award

For excellence in ensuring that our value of Respect is demonstrated in every aspect of their work (individual).

Winner: Charmaine Bourke

About the winner: Charmaine has excelled at the task of coordinating the support for a young man with complex support needs to make the transition from a detention setting to living in the community. The transition program has been a great success and in a short time the client has learnt a range of skills and behaviours needed to settle into the Australian community and pursue an ordinary life. The impact has been nothing short of life changing. The transition of a detainee with a disability was the first ever attempted in Australia with a disability service provider and involved Charmaine working with a large number of new stakeholders. Charmaine advocated very effectively for the human rights of her client, and won the admiration of all the stakeholders for her positive, respectful and person centred approach.

Award accepted by: Congratulations to Charmaine, pictured accepting her award with Paul Tipping and Tony from Advantage Salary Packaging.

Honourable Mention

Linda receiving honourable mention award from Paul TippingThis year we gave an Honourable Mention in the Bill Tipping Distinguished Staff Member of the Year Award to Linda Turoa. Linda is an outstanding person has a brilliant relationship with clients and their families and also other staff. She is very respectful and much respected, a very hard worker who empowers clients’ independence and engages well with them. She is very aware of community inclusion and the Person Centred Active Support requirements of her role. The impact on clients is daily with Linda. Whenever she is rostered on (and even when she isn’t!) she makes a remarkable impact on staff and clients and their families. She demonstrates a strong human rights approach in all she does.

Congratulations to Linda.

And congratulations to all of the nominees in this year’s Staff Excellence Awards.

Appreciation Certificates

In wrapping up our Awards this year, Tipping Learning & Development Manager Sarah McMurtrie presented several Appreciation Certificates and gifts to acknowledge the important and signifiant involvement of several of our clients our Organisational Induction Program, including:

  • Graeme and Anne – Metro
  • John – Metro
  • Simone – Barwon

Thank you to all of our clients who contributed.

Photos from Staff Excellence Awards

Enjoy the photos from our 2017 Staff Excellence Awards presentation event.

Posted in Events, News & Events, Work